Oak Leaf Editing Services

_______________________________________________________________

Why is professional editing important?

Editing one’s own work is a valuable skill for any writer, but due to publisher deadlines and other time constraints it isn’t always possible or practical. An independent, objective eye can detect issues which might otherwise escape notice, especially if an author is rushed for time.

What does Oak Leaf Editing Services offer?

I offer professional, effective, and thorough editing for fiction manuscripts of any length. My interest lies in helping your novel or story be the best it can be, whether to prepare it for self-publishing or other venues. What I guarantee: a thorough, professional job finished in a timely manner, for a reasonable fee

What makes you qualified to edit my manuscript?

I have a master’s degree in English literature and a master’s degree in library science. I taught college English for thirteen years, and have sixteen years of experience as a college librarian. I am also a published author, so I know what it is like to be on the other end of the keyboard, and I can relate to the issues and concerns of other writers.

What if I want to see your work first?

I am happy to do some sample pages from your manuscript for a free, no obligation estimate, for a maximum of 3 pages. If you are happy with the result, then Oak Leaf might be a good fit for your work.

What does the editing process involve?

When I approach a manuscript I examine it on several levels. First, I look at the basic mechanics of language: spelling, grammar, punctuation, word usage, sentence and paragraph structure. Then I go deeper and examine the consistency, internal logic, and continuity of the story line and of the characters themselves. On. occasion I will fact-check something, if I feel a manuscript could benefit from that.

What references do you use?

I go by the Chicago Manual of Style, and as the occasion arises I will consult other reputable reference works including the Oxford and Cambridge dictionaries online, the Merriam Webster dictionary (both paper copy and online), and the Grammarly web site.

What if I don’t like what you have done?

Editing is a collaborative process. My goal is to work with you to help your book or story be the best it can be. If you have particular suggestions or ideas as to what you would like to have me do, I will do my best to implement those. If there are any suggestions or changes that I make that you do not feel comfortable with, you are not obligated to accept them, and there is no penalty. As the writer, you have authority over your own work. While I do my best with every manuscript I receive, yours is the final approval, and the final responsibility, for your work.*

I think my book could be a lot better, but I’m not sure how to improve it. Do you do rewrites?

I will make suggestions if there is something I see during the editing process that I feel could be improved. However, rewriting involves altering the basic structure of the work itself, which takes up a longer time frame than copy editing and a much closer collaboration between the author and the editor. At this time, due to time constraints, I do not do complete rewrites.

What is your price range?

Oak Leaf’s usual rate for copy editing is $3 per page, and for proofreading (spelling, grammar, punctuation) $1 per page. However, currently Oak Leaf is offering a special introductory rate of $1.00 per page copy editing for fiction manuscripts of any length. 

How do you accept payment for your services?

You can send your payment to Oak Leaf through PayPal within ten business days of receiving your final edited manuscript and invoice. I will keep a digital copy of your edited manuscript for six months from that date (in case of computer-related accidents, viruses, etc..) and during that time I would be happy to email you additional free copies at your request.

 

         *Please note that I do not guarantee acceptance with any publisher.

 

 

This entry was posted in book, editing, editor, manuscript, publish, publishing, Uncategorized, writer, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

